June 20, 2010 Cancellation with 100% refund


(0 days before the conference)

Recent updates

2010-08-23 IMA2010 Conference News
2010-08-18 Lunches on IMA2010
Click here for detailed info
2010-08-17 Presentation submission available
If you would like to send your presentation prior to the meeting to Budapest, please send it by e-mail to Robert Hohol
2010-08-17 Please donate mineral, rock, and ore specimens to the Eötvös Museum of Natural History
Click here for detailed info
2010-08-17 Experience the quality of your samples with new course microscopes from Carl Zeiss
Click here for detailed info
2010-08-17 Detailed itinerary of field trips were posted
Click here for detailed info
2010-07-15 Optional Programmes information available on the website!
Click here for detailed info

Plenary Lectures

At IMA2010 13 cutting edge science plenary talks will be held.
Six of them are ELEMENTS 5 talks.
Please click here to read further details on the ELEMENTS 5 talks.

E5 E5


The seven regular PLENARY TALKS are scheduled every day, from Sunday (Aug. 22) to Friday (Aug. 27)
(for a general overview, see the IMA2010 Plenary and Elements5 talks timetable)

Timing, speakers and titles:

Sun 22nd, 14.30-15.20
Bob Hazen
: Mineral Evolution: The co-evolving geo- and biospheres

Mon 23rd, 16.00-16.50
Peter Buseck
: 40 years of mineralogy on the nanoscale

Tues 24th, 16.00-16.50
Bill Griffin
: Composition and evolution of the subcontinental lithospheric mantle and origin of its diamonds

Wed 25th, 13.00-13.50
Olgeir Sigmarsson : Mineralogical and glass compositional variations during the 2010 eruption of Eyjafjallajökull, Iceland

Wed 25th, 16.00-16.50
Jonathan R. Lloyd
: The mineral-microbe interface and its defining role in controlling contaminant mobility in the subsurface

Thurs 26th, 16.00-16.50
Frank Hawthorne
(IMA Medalist 2009): Toward theoretical mineralogy: the bond-topological basis of structure stability and mineral reactions
Sponsored by International Mineralogical Association (IMA)

Fri 27th, 16.00-16.50
Max Wilke (2009 EMU Research Excellence Medallist): X-ray spectroscopy on geomaterials using synchrotron radiation
Sponsored by European Mineralogical Union (EMU)